Feng Shui Colour Schemes

Feng Shui Colour Schemes

Feng Shui Colour Schemes

The history of colour is rooted in ancient times, religion and culture. There are many colour schemes and colour associations from varying corners of the globe. Here are the three main groups; Western, Eastern and Feng Shui.

Western Colour Psychology

Black Glamour, sophistication, power, style, depression, darkness, mysterious, evil, decay

White Purity, religion, faith, health, hygiene, sterile, stark, clinical, cleanliness, naivety, efficiency, innocence, cold, winter, empty

Grey Depression, dull, overcast, glum, industrious, un-energised, boring, illness, conformity, oppression

Orange Social, positivity, warmth, cheerfulness, creativity, health, happiness, soul, endurance, longevity, expression, awareness, uplifting

Blue Calm, conservative, intelligent, communication, authority, restful, leadership, rational, sincere, logic, truth, responsibility, royalty, clarity, confident, wise, loneliness, insular, healing, cooling

Red Passionate, cravings, desires, femininity, power, attraction, love, romance, wooing, confidence, courage, brave, sexuality, royalty, leadership, authority, glamour, fun, expression, fiery, bold, warning, help, danger, military, warmth

Yellow Uplifting, sunshine, nobility, optimism, summer, energetic, emotions, mental clarity, fear, visibility, stimulating

Green Calming, relaxing, resting, healing, soothing, nature, growth, development, prosperity, grounding, freshness, friendliness, jealousy, gluttony

Purple Mystical, spirituality, mysterious, meditation, higher intelligence, perfection, honour, dignity, sensitivity, depression, fear, creative, religion, faith, luxury, egotistic

Eastern Colour – Chakras

The seven chakra system is known for body and mind balance. Each colour vibrates at a different frequency, relating to health, wellbeing, emotions, body parts, Buddhist tradition and prana.

Violet/Magenta/Royal Purple Crown chakra, top of head, inspiration, spiritual, perfection, self-knowledge

Indigo/Violet/Dark Blue Third eye/Brow chakra, centre of forehead, imagination, creativity, wisdom, spiritual

Sky Blue Throat chakra, Adam’s apple area, communication, tranquillity, truth, knowledge, loyalty

Green Heart chakra, centre of chest, unconditional love, balance, forgiveness, centre of your soul

Yellow Solar plexus chakra, below chest, clarity, well-being, confidence, warmth, humour, will

Orange Sacral chakra, adrenals and kidneys, harmony, sexual desire, adaptability

Red Base chakra, base of spine, reproductive organs, passion, power, courage, instinct

Feng Shui Colours

Based on the Classical Chinese theory of Traditional Chinese Medicine, the Feng Shui colour palette for Feng Shui is based on the five elements. Click these links for a detailed over-view of the associations that relate to the five elements and the eight trigrams. Within Feng Shui, it is popular belief in the West that to bring love and passion into a room you need to apply the colour red or pink. When using Classical Feng Shui methods, within the compass school such as the Flying Stars system, this may be unfavourable. An analysis of the flying stars would be conducted to determine which element is needed to drain or weaken the unfavourable residing flying stars, or would enhance or strengthen the favourable residing flying stars.

Wood Green, blue green, olive green, forest green

Fire Red, purple, sky blue, baby blue, lilac, pink, orange, baby pink, violet, turquoise

Earth Brown, cream, yellow, tan, beige, grey-brown, earthy tones, ivory, magnolia

Metal Brilliant white, silver, gold, chrome, brass, bronze, copper, any metallic colour

Water Black, navy, midnight blue, dark blue, charcoal, dark blue-grey

The 5 Element Theory

The Taoists believe that everything between Heaven and Earth has an interaction with the five elements. Each element is associated with different: years, months, days, minutes, seasons, weather, cardinal directions, colours, organs, body parts, illnesses, speech, sounds, emotions etc.

5 Element Cycles

As with Yin Yang theory, the 5 elements also interact with each other and hold different relationships depending on which element is in focus. Read more about the constructive cycle, the draining cycle, the insulting cycle and the deconstructive cycle.

5 Elements Architecture

In the surrounding environment, shapes in the landscape whether natural or built correspond to the five element theory. This article looks at buildings and the five elements: wood, fire, earth, metal, water.

5 Elements Room Colours

Each colour is associated with one of the 5 element theory and can be applied as a remedy for the Flying Stars compass school analysis of a home layout.

8 Mansions

There are two Classical Feng Shui methods using the Eight Mansions analysis. The first is used for room placement, known as the House Kua to map out the four favourable sectors and the four unfavourable sectors in the home.

The 8 Trigrams

The 8 Chinese trigrams (and central number 5 which does not have a Trigram), are associated with a cardinal direction, number, element, organ, body part, illness and other associations. The 8 trigrams are birthed from the 5 elements.